Beware Of The Person Who Says “I Don’t Sin”

Yeah, the title speaks for itself.

First things first, I’m sorry for another MIA. My free time seems to be all about school lately (master’s program is rough to say the least, but God is getting me through it as my sustainer.)

Anyhoo,

I was watching (ok it was watching me) and I heard Shannon from RHOC say “I don’t lie” and it got me to thinking, “You just told a lie right then”

Didn’t House say “Everybody Lies”?

***sidebar*** I don’t know why RHOC continues to suck me back in. I gave up most of the ratchet reality shows. Maybe it’s to teach me the opposite of what not to do. And I side eye Meghan for saying that Babies come from the spirit world, which is not true, because we’re born spiritually dead, but that’s another lesson for another time.

I digress

Anyhoo, in 1 John 1: 5-10

5 This is the message we have heard from Him and announce to you, that God is Light, and in Him there is no darkness at all.
6 If we say that we have fellowship with Him and yet walk in the darkness, we lie and do not practice the truth;
7 but if we walk in the Light as He Himself is in the Light, we have fellowship with one another, and the blood of Jesus His Son cleanses us from all sin.
8 If we say that we have no sin, we are deceiving ourselves and the truth is not in us.
9 If we confess our sins, He is faithful and righteous to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.
10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.

In the eyes of God, a sin is a sin is a sin. It doesn’t matter what the sin is.

Lying is something that everyone struggles with, because we have a deceitful tongue (Psalm 120:2; Psalm 52:4)

Our tongue is very poisonous, because it’s full of pride and contempt, it’s arrogant, it’s boastful, and it can cause some damage beyond repair.

I can’t speak for anyone else, but I know my tongue is lethal and has gotten me in a world of trouble. (I can be slick with my mouth, according to my mom…..which is funny, because I’m more articulate in writing, but I’m sarcastic – think female Chandler Bing from Friends with a little Dorothy Zbornak from Golden Girls)

Before I gave my life to the Lord, I would lie chronically. I would lie, because I was afraid of people’s reaction to my actually feelings about things, so I would lie to please them.

The only difference between lying now and then is my relationship with the Lord. Before I got saved, whenever I sinned, I sometimes will get an attack of the conscious. Now, I get conviction from the Holy Spirit. The conviction reminds me of a 5-minute warning that my mom would give me to get inside the house from playing outside.

I’m learning that during that conviction to immediately confess, because the more you prolong that period of not confessing, the harder it becomes to actually confess later on and also you start making and finding any excuse to try to biblically find why it’s ok to do that particular sin that is taking you out of fellowship with the Father.

When we deny during something such as lying or any type of sin, or even give an excuse about why a particular sin is ok, because it’s not in the bible, we’re pretty much saying to God that we’re the author of our own book so to speak.

That’s not right and it’s not fair.

If he says that it’s a sin, then you need to understand that it’s offensive to him and harmful to us.

When someone says “I don’t sin” I avoid them like the plague. That person is about self at that moment, which is where we are most dangerous with our tongue. Our pride gets involved and Satan has a field day.

So, what to do?

I stay away, but I also pray for that person and then for myself, since we do live in a monkey see, monkey do world. Meaning, our flesh is still very much active and trying to regain control of our being, so when you hear, see, or think of something that is contrary to God’s word, then our flesh picks it up and absorbs it.

My little sister, I love her dearly, but she cusses like a sailor and when confronted she acknowledges that she cusses too much. Her excuse, however, is this is just the way she is. She needs to get with God and seriously search why she is like that. Why does she allow herself to use language that means nothing but destruction? I feel a conviction, even when a cuss word comes across in my thoughts. I purposely try to skip over curse words, if I come across something with it. (Sometimes, it’s kinda hard, so I may substitute)

When the day comes that we stand before God, that is not the excuse that we’re going to give, because there will be no excuses.

The longer you participate in that particular sin that is recurring or unconfessed, you will give Satan a foothold and sometimes a fully leg in how you handle that sin. If will boast you up and trick you like he did Eve in the garden and make you second guess what the bible actually says.

As Christians, if you ignore the convictions that the Holy Spirit is giving you about whatever sin you’re doing at that moment, you are grieving and quenching the Holy Spirit. You are in violation of God’s word, because his word says not to quench or grieve the Holy Spirit (1 Thes 5:19, Ephesians 6:16)

I speak from personal experience when I say that the more you quench/grieve the Holy Spirit, the more miserable you’ll become. Because, you’re not in fellowship with God and your flesh is leading you, which means that Satan is probably up there in Heaven mocking you before God. That should be enough to kick anybody into high gear and make things right.

So what can we do?

Examine yourself. Ask the Holy Spirit to help you identify areas of your life that is not pleasing to the Lord. Ask him to help you overcome that sin in your life that you have a hard time confessing or keep denying. Ask him to reveal to you any unconfessed sin that needs to be confessed and repented. Because the word is clear when it says “If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar and His word is not in us.”

Satan comes to steal, kill, and destroy. He’s the CEO of that operation. Actually, he’s the CEO of this world and the chairman and 100% majority shareholder. We’re to be in the world, but not of the world. We’re born into chaos, because of Adam, which is why Jesus went to the cross to reconcile us back to the Father. When Satan loses his kids to Christ, he’s pissed off and trying to discredit you before God to make it appear like we’re not worth anything. Don’t let him win. Let Jesus continue to be an intercessory for us, because she’s our greatest cheerleader and lawyer and he wants us to stop falling for Satan’s tricks and schemes. Each time we say we don’t sin, we fall for the scheme hook, line, and sinker.

I don’t care where you are at this moment. Go before the Father and confess your sins and get back into fellowship with him, if you’re out of it that is. You never know and you won’t know unless you ask. It’s like a work, where you have to speak to your manager sometimes and say “Hey how I’m doing work wise?” Checking on your performance. It’s the same thing here.

Know that you cannot lose your salvation, because you have a relationship with Christ and you have the Holy Spirit indwelled with you. Your fellowship with Christ is a different thing. It’s like when you’re disobedient to your mother. She’s mad and waiting on you to apologize and make things right, but you’re still her child, that relationship is solid and forever. When you reconcile with your mother after apologizing and admitting what you did was wrong, then the fellowship has been restored and you are cool beans with one another. It’s the same concept.

You’re going to mess up and God knows that. But, he lets us know in 1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us of our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness (I’m going by KJV memory here, so it’s worded differently form the NASB version above)

Get it together and make it right and don’t let Satan have that victory over you.

Until next time bros and sis and if by chance, there is another MIA event, I apologize in advance, but I’m going to try to keep diligent in posting at least once a week or twice a month. But this has been on my heart since last week and It was laid on my heart again today to finish and post.

xoxo,

Jade

About Jade

a boho-punk Christian that Loves Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible Study, Lessons and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

