Bible Study: What is Pruning?

What is Pruning?

Pruning is a garden technique for cutting away the dead or overgrown branches, twigs, and stems, that is unwanted in the garden or landscape.

Pruning is actually very important to our spiritual growth, especially as the Holy Spirit continues to lead us and guide us. It’s very essential to listen to the Holy Spirit as he lets you know what needs to be pruned in your life.

It can be a variety of things that you may need pruning from.

Something small like stop drinking sodas or something bigger like cutting certain friends of out your life.

Whatever the Lord is pruning from your life, go with it.

Don’t fight. Don’t deny it. It is important to obey him has let is stripping you of those things that can hinder you.

You must glorify God and listen to his instructions.

You’ll be surprise what he is pruning from my life lately.

First let me give you his word that shows how pruning is an important process in our walk with the Lord.

John 15:1-11

1 “I am the true vine, and My Father is the vinedresser. 

2 Every branch in Me that does not bear fruit, He takes away; and every branch that bears fruit, He prunes it so that it may bear more fruit. 

3 You are already clean because of the word which I have spoken to you. 

4 Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. 

5 I am the vine, you are the branches; he who abides in Me and I in him, he bears much fruit, for apart from Me you can do nothing. 

6 If anyone does not abide in Me, he is thrown away as a branch and dries up; and they gather them, and cast them into the fire and they are burned. 

7 If you abide in Me, and My words abide in you, ask whatever you wish, and it will be done for you. 

8 My Father is glorified by this, that you bear much fruit, and so prove to be My disciples.

9 Just as the Father has loved Me, I have also loved you; abide in My love. 

10 If you keep My commandments, you will abide in My love; just as I have kept My Father’s commandments and abide in His love. 

11 These things I have spoken to you so that My joy may be in you, and that your joy may be made full.

So, as you see in the scriptures, pruning is very essential in cleaning up the dead fruit. What you read, watch, and hear can affect us more than we know.

Whatever nature that you feed the most, the more it’s going to shine through.

What do I mean by that?

If you’re a born-again believer in Christ, then you know that we have Christ in us the hope of glory (Col 1:27) and we were given the indwelling of the Holy Spirit, to lead and guide us into all truths. But you also know that we still have the sinful nature that we were born with until the day we physically die and until our physical death, we are still in bondage with our flesh. (read Gal 5 and Romans 8)

For example, I was watching Basketball Wives the other day, trying to catch up after a 2 week fast of not watching the ratchet shows, but I heard the Lord clear as day “Why are you watching this?” and then my schedule reminder to watch Wrecked came on. But then after the Wrecked episode was over, I switched back to watching Basketball Wives and he said again “Again, why are you watching this?”

I had to reflect and remember the peace of mind that I had during that 2-week fast. I notice that I wasn’t as gossipy, I was less conflicted and less on edge, my attitude was better, and I felt that godly peace. As soon as my fast was done, I tried to watch Real Housewives of New York and couldn’t finish it, even though that one is my favorite. Same with Love and Hip Hop: Atlanta, I had it on in the background, but I couldn’t begin to recap it fully. But with Basketball Wives, all I heard was arguing and cussing and I notice that I was starting the bad habits, like I was mimicking what I heard and saw. This is why the Lord kept asking me, “Why are you watching this?” Because it wasn’t bringing him glory and it was affecting my fellowship with him. It was feeding my flesh, which had that authority at that moment to have me grieve the Holy Spirit.

I’ve examined Shows before, like I used to watch Charmed, but the Holy Spirit told me to stop. Even most recently, the new TV show Claws, the first 15 mins in, the Holy Spirit said “Turn the channel and don’t watch this.” Even with movies, like Fifty Shades Darker and I wanted to see that so bad, because it had more suspense, but again the Holy Spirit said “Don’t”

I had no idea that this was pruning and trimming away that dead fruit and vines that were not helpful with my walk with the Lord. I had no idea how much what I was watching and even the music in my itunes library that I was listening to, could be harmful to my spiritual growth.

So, I’ve been examining everything, even social media. I just deleted my facebook page (ok deactivated, because they will only delete it when I’m dead). I know for a fact that I won’t start another one again (at least that’s my hope). Definitely, examining what else I’ve watched that is not good. What I’ve read (I’m picky with what I read anyway) and even whom I’ve spend my time with and let in. Even what you eat and drink.

The pruning process is not only essential, sometimes it can be painful, especially if you have bonded with what needed to be pruned. Some things may be your guilty pleasure, some may be your biggest vice, some may be your greatest obsession, some may even be your best friends, but in the long run, you will see why the Lord had to prune those things and people away and remember it’s for his glory and his purpose for your life. So, when you start to lose interest in something or when people start to distant themselves from you, then it’s a reason and it’s God’s way of pruning to prepare you for his purpose. Trust and believe.

What are the things in your life that needs pruning? Or that Lord has told you that needs pruning?

If you’re not sure, ask him?

Say, Father, what is it in my life that needs to be pruned?

He’ll tell you. He will definitely tell you.

Stay safe and pray without ceasing!!!!!

xoxo

Jade

About Jade

a boho-punk Christian that Loves Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Study and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

