Be Still and Know that I am God

The title comes from Psalm 46:10, where David writes “Be Still, and know that I am God: I will be exalted among the heathen, and I will be exacted in the earth.”

Now, when you first look at the verse, you would think it means to be quiet and acknowledge God. Not in particularly, although, it does help to be quiet and let God do his thing.

When it says to “Be Still” in that verse, it actually means to Stop, Let it God, Stop Fighting, Stand Down, Cease Striving, Stop trippin, and to actually Be Still.

In Exodus 14:12-14, the Israelites were complaining and it was at that time that Pharoah was pursuing them after their exodus from Egypt. Moses was still trying to keep them together and told them to chill with these words. Well, let me give you verse 12 first

12 “Is this not the word that we spoke to you in Egypt saying, ‘Leave us alone that we may serve the Egyptians’? For it would have been better for us to serve the Egyptians than to die in the wilderness.”

Moses’ response

13-14 “But Moses said to the people, “Do not fear! Stand by and see the salvation of the Lord which He will accomplish for you today; for the Egyptians whom you have seen today, you will never see them again forever. The Lord will fight for you while you keep silent.”

After Moses’ response, the Israelites saw that God had their backs by parting the red sea, which pretty much drowned Pharaoh’s peeps.

But even though they saw with their own eyes that God had their back, then still complained and thus the golden calf happened, while Moses was getting the Ten Commandments, and as a result of their ongoing disbelief and disobedience, they were cursed with wondering in the wilderness for 40 years and wasn’t able to see the promise land which was promised to their forefathers.

Isn’t ironic that the Israelites were God’s chosen people and yet they complained thI e most, not to mention they didn’t receive Jesus and he was one of them.

The more I think about it, that could be why they complained so much, because they thought that they were entitled to God’s blessings, because they were the chosen ones. Well, like my mama always told me, this aint Burger King, where you can have it your way. But I digress……

The point of this post is to remind everyone that God is always in control. Even when you don’t see it, he is. He’s always and forever in control.

Things are bad now in the world and unfortunately, I don’t think it will get better, because of Jesus’ warning in Mark 13. Stand firm and continue to hold on to God’s unchanging hand.

I have a feeling that it’s almost time to go home to be with the Lord and each year that feeling gets stronger. But until such time, I will continue to spread his gospel and to be what he has called all of his children to be: The light of the world.

It’s natural to be fearful. I’ll be honest, each time I get in my car and I see a cop, I am scared. It’s makes me mindful to obey the speed limit and make sure that everything is up to date, so that they won’t have a reason to pull me over. I also have a small fear about the Presidential election. ***sidebar*** I don’t want Trump to be the President of the United States. No way, Jose. At the same time, if that happens, I will do thus saith the Lord and Be Still.

He said he will never leave us nor forsake us. So, we should believe in that always and forever and always remember that we are to render unto God. Trust him and remember that this world is not our home. When you give your life to Christ, you are no longer citizens of this world, because our citizenship is in Heaven. So, continue to keep your eyes and your hearts upon our Heavenly Home.

Until, the next time, Lord willing,

xoxo,

Jade

About Jade

a boho-punk Christian that Loves Christ.
This entry was posted in Bible, Bible Study, End Times, God's Promise, Jesus Christ, Lessons, Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Be Still and Know that I am God

  1. mamaredeemed says:

    Might I recommend the book Rhythm of Life by Matthew Kelly ( I so want to bold and underline the title as my grade school teachers have taught me, but I can’t figure out how to do so on my phone). Great read about being ones best self and prayer and being still with God on a daily basis is sooo important. Not a super religious book but definitely a book for followers as he does reference the bible often.

Leave a Reply

