Gossip is Fun, But God Hates It

I got to definitely confess that I like to gossip. It’s fun, it’s appealing to the ears, and it’s interesting.

But you know who does not find it fun, appealing, or interesting? God. Yep, it’s actually something he abhors and no matter how much you find it fun.

Don’t believe me?

Proverbs 6:16-19

There are six things which the Lord hates, Yes, seven which are an abomination to Him: Haughty eyes, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood, A heart that devises wicked plans, Feet that run rapidly to evil, A False Witness who utters lies, And one who spread strife among brothers.

Chile, I learned this the hard way. The hard way being that he read me for filth, as they say now.

Every morning when I’m at work I listen to In Touch ministries, Dr. Charles Stanley. The topic for that day: Gossip. I said ok and I listened to the entire 20 min lesson and took notes, while working. It’s when I learned that God really hates gossip.

I mean it’s obviously something that I’ve heard before, but hey when Satan wants you do his dirty work, then do you really listen? No you don’t. Because he will deliver the temptation in such a beautiful gift wrap, that it is literally hard to resist.

So why is Gossip so appealing?

Some call it tea, receipts, the scoop, whatever it is, it’s insider information that every human being on this earth enjoys to be a part of. Even though, we don’t like to be the topic of the gossip. No one actually enjoys that. Well, maybe some do, but they usually enjoy the attention part, not necessarily the gossip part. There was a reason why Gossip Girl was a popular TV show (xoxo) and yes guys gossip just as much as girls do, sometimes even better.

But the thing about Gossip is that it isn’t always true, because some people will say, “Well, if it’s true, then it’s not gossip”, no gossip is gossip, which means in the eyes of the Lord, it’s a sin.

So, lets see how God feels about Gossip

Proverbs 16:28

A perverse man spreads strife, And a slanderer separates intimate friends.

Exodus 23:1

You shall not bear a false report; do not join your hand with a wicked man to be a malicious witness.

James 4:11

Do not speak against one another, brethren He who speaks against a brother or judges his brother, speaks against the law and judges the law; but if you judge the law, you are not a doer of the law but a judge of it.

Psalm 101:5

Whoever secretly slanders his neighbor, him I will destroy; No one who has a haughty look and an arrogant heart will I endure

Leviticus 19:16

You shall not go about as a slanderer among your people, and you are not to act against the life of your neighbor; I am the Lord.

Proverbs 18:6-7

A fool’s lips bring strife, And his mouth calls for blows. A fool’s mouth is his ruin, and his lips are the snare of his soul.

You know it was also apart of the Ten Commandments

Exodus 20:16

You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor

We will be here all year, if I go through all the verses that pertains to gossip in the bible.

Warnings about Gossiping

Proverbs 20:19

He who goes about as a slanderer reveals secrets, Therefore do not associate with a gossip

Psalm 34:13

Keep your tongue from evil and you lips from speaking deceit

Proverbs 11:13

He who goes about as a talebearer reveals secrets, But he who is trustworthy conceals a matter.

Proverbs 21:23

He who guards his mouth and his tongue, Guards his soul from troubles

Yesterday at work, I was intrigued by my co-workers intense conversation and I can tell you whatever it was they were talking about it was juicy and yes, I wanted to know what it was. I even paused my music to listen. I walked over to my co-worker’s desk to dip. Then I heard the Lord loud and clear to stop it. I was just ask guilty just by dipping, even though I had no clue what they were talking about. The sheer fact that I was aching to know was wrong and it’s crazy how our human mindset ache to participate in something that didn’t involve us. It was none of my business, so I put my mind back on what I was doing before.

I understand why God hates gossip, just as I understand why Satan loves it. God is not the author of confusion (1 Cor 14:33), but Satan is the author and the father of lies (John 8:44)

Paul said in 1 Peter 3:9 “Do not repay evil for (with) evil or insult for (with) insult” So if someone gossips about you, don’t do the same.

If you participate in gossiping, you’re guilty – point blank.
If you just listen, still guilty.
If you ache to know and start dipping – still guilty.

We literally have to be mindful about this wicked sin and remember that it’s one of the things that it’s an abomination in the eyes of the Lord.

Now, the point of these blogs is also teaching myself. I can’t promise or declare that I or any of us will never gossip (intentionally or not, directly or not) again. It’s impossible to promise that. It’s impossible to tell yourself that.

The only thing we can do is to continue to let the Lord direct our paths, ask the Holy Spirit to lead and guide us into all truths. Continue to feed the Spirit in us and not feed the flesh with ungodly things. Which is important that we are extremely careful of what we introduce ourselves to, who we listen to, and watch, etc.

So, I say again. Gossiping is fun, but God hates it.

xoxo,

Jade

 

image via here

About Jade

a boho-punk Christian that Loves Christ.
This entry was posted in Lessons, Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

